My grandfather passed away last night.

He had been bed-ridden for a while, so in a way we had been mentally preparing for this for a while. Even so, it’s still pretty shocking. I immediately knew what had happened when I woke up at 4am to hear my mom sobbing uncontrollably from her bedroom. More than anything, I think this is what hurt me the most. 😦

We spent the whole day with the family, and its times like these I’m so thankful that we’re all in the same city (most of us, anyway) and incredibly thankful that we are all so close. I thought my grandmother would be inconsolable, but it was so inspiring to find her there, serene and thankful that things happened the way they did….he was finally able to rest. She had spent the past 55 years at my grandfather’s side, tending to his every need, and in the past few years slowly watching him become not even a shadow of who he once was. We never heard her complain. That is love.

So all things considered, it was a good day. We shed a good amount of tears, but it really brought me to realize how lucky I am to have my family….all of my aunts, uncles, cousins, cousins’ husbands (and parents and sister, of course). You could really feel the love in the house, we laughed a good amount of the day and remembered all the good times we had with our grandfather throughout the years.
Life is short.

“There is no cure for birth and death save to enjoy the interval.”

~George Santayana

