…but I must.

Quoted from the IRS website:

Your tax refund is scheduled to be direct deposited on May 5, 2008. If your refund is not credited to your account by May 10, 2008, check with your bank to find out if it has been received. Please wait until May 10, 2008 before you contact us again because we are unable to take any action until then.

Whoo-hoo! By next Monday I will be $1355 richer! I originally had a neat little plan all outlined. I was going to pay $1133.32 back to my Emergency Fund for the money I took out to pay for my CC balance. The remaining $221.68 would have gone to my mom to pay for a plane ticket she bought me last year (out of $364). Once I received my Rebate I would pay my mom the remaining $142.32 and the remaining $457.68 would go towards my trip this summer.

My money is still going to the same places in the same amounts, just in a different order. I will FIRST pay my mother back as soon as I get my refund, then everything else will follow.

For a while I was tempted to complete my Gift Fund as soon as I had the money in my hands, but in the end I decided it was a bad idea. First of all, because if I don’t “pay back” my emergency fund who knows when I’ll make it up! Second of all, if I have $500 in the gift fund, chances are I’ll spend it on something. It’s money just asking to be spent!! I believe if I have to work harder at accumulating it, I’ll think a little harder before spending it.

Let’s hope everything goes smoothly and that I also get my rebate soon!

