I’ve been wanting to run a 5k for a while now, but so far I’ve been all talk. I can’t remember how many times I’ve started the Couch to 5k, only to get discouraged or start coming up with excuses, or even forget I’m “training”. Well, the one I’ve been wanting to do for two years (the Thanksgiving Run) is in 4 months, and I’m signing up for it as soon as registration opens. If I can’t train, or I’m still out of shape by November I’ll either have to make a fool of myself or give up the $25 I’m going to be paying for registration.

$25 isn’t a big deal, chances are I’ll be getting at least that much after the weight loss competition at work. The thing is I’m making a pact with myself….

In spite of my flaky nature when it comes to workouts, I really, REALLY want a heart rate monitor!!! They look so cool!!! Plus, part of the reason I usually quit running is because I end up nearly giving myself a heart attack (or so it feels) by trying to run too hard or something, and I think it’d help keep myself in check. I haven’t looked too far into it, but I’m pretty sure a cool one will be at least $200. (The really really cool garmins are well into the $300s I think).

So this is what I’m doing: I will register for the race as soon as it opens. I will train to at least be able to run half of the race (that’s a big deal for me…even bigger if I’m able to run all of it!!). Once I do this, and if I have the cash set aside, I’ll let myself buy a heart rate monitor as my Christmas gift. Obviously this means I’ll have to save up for it. I don’t want to divert any money from my other goals right now though, but we’ll see what happens. This is mostly about proving to myself that I can stick with the running before I commit $200 or something on a gadget I won’t use. If I don’t train, I won’t bother with thinking of buying one.

As a final note, do any of you know of a heart rate monitor with a built in mp3 player? It seems as though none of them do, but I could be wrong. (The Nike Sports kit for the iPod nano looked cool, but it has no HRM….and I don’t have a nano).

