In a little under two months I’m going to be going through a career transition. For the past two years I’ve been part of a rotation/training program in which I’ve gone through three different areas of the industry within the company I work for. So in essence I’ve been a sort of intern….full-time 2-year intern, of course. In  October I’ll also be choosing which career path I want to pursue.  Anyway, when I spoke to the HR manager last month she mentioned that when the transition came there would be a raise to accompany it as well.

My first question then, is what will this raise be? Are they talking 3%, 6%….10%? I have no clue. (Anyone have a clue for me? 😀 )

The second thing that comes to my head is am I allowed to negotiate this raise? Is that tacky? Afterall, I’m already an employee…right? Or is this to be looked at as a promotion ( and do you negotiate pay raises for promotions?)  Either way, I dread any kind of negotiations and I’m really not sure how my salary stands in comparison to others in my industry (plus I’ve now got experience to take into account! Whoo-hoo!).

Assuming that it would be acceptable for me to negotiate my raise….where should I look for information on salaries?When I did my first job search in college I used PayScale, and in fact I put in my information a few minutes ago and according to them I’m slightly on the higher end of the scale as it is right now. The highest salary on record was maybe $6k more than me, and the lowest was more than $20k less than mine (for the same experience level).

At this point I don’t want to seem greedy or anything. I just don’t want to end up getting paid less than a new grad would be getting paid, for example. While I don’t think that would happen, you never know! I’ve been getting consistent 6% raises each year, so I think my pay has kept up with inflation, but I also want to make sure it reflects my added experience.

