Today is supposed to be my last day in this department. You’d think I’d be thrilled, right? Well, I’m not. I’m a little mad. Why? Its Friday….I start my new position on Monday, yet I have no idea what project I’ll be working on, and I don’t know what office to report to. I’m a little worried they’re going to keep me in this department for a few weeks until they have their stuff figured out. They can’t do that to me…I need to get out!!

So yes, I’m mad. I guess a better word would be resentful. Am I being unreasonable?

This actually reminds me of earlier this year when they had me jumping from office to office. I was at one, and then one day the project manager approaches me and says “could you go to another office tomorrow. We have [so and so] coming in tomorrow and we’re going to need your desk.” Um…huh? Granted, they were letting me use their office as a favor, but….dude, just request to your boss that they permanently place me somewhere else!!! I do what they tell me to, but I don’t think its fair that I have to lug all my stuff all over the place because you can’t tell your boss that you can’t house another employee there full-time.  So yeah, I never quite felt welcome there (made worse by the fact that they all went out to lunch one day for our coworkers farewell dinner. No one told me and the only way I figured it out was that I had been locked into the office. Yeah, real welcoming, huh? [sigh]) That day that he asked me to leave for one day was the last straw. I never went back and have been at this office ever since.

Anyway….here I am waiting for news on where I’m going. I’m getting more pissed by the minute. I know I should be thankful for this job, and I actually like the company, but I can’t help but feel as though I’m being treated unequally (is that even a word?) Afterall, one of the other guys that is leaving the same department already received his placement! He’s known for a couple weeks now. Why don’t I?!! (Thats possibly because his will only be an 8-month placement/rotation, and I’m making a “permanent” transition.)

 

Update: I just received word from my exec….they have a placement for me! Not the most exciting assignment, but it’ll do. (The bad part: its a further drive than this office.) He’s going to be calling in a little while. Wish me luck!

