I know that there are a lot of bloggers out there that donate parts of their income to charities or causes that they are drawn to. In the past I’ve also donated some money….but to be honest, it wasn’t much. I often don’t have the money  in my weekly or monthly budget to just give money, but really, I have so much more than many others out there….I just feel selfish not giving anything back at all.

So, inspired by Mr. J Money (of BudgetsAreSexy.com), I’m going to add a new item to my budget: $25 per month to donate to ANY cause I feel like. Over the course of a year that’s $300. Even that doesn’t seem like much, but its a start, and hopefully the number will go up as I become more comfortable with my budget.

There are two groups that I currently donate to EVERY year: the Mary Kay Ash Charitable Foundation (supports cancer research and victims of domestic abuse), and my university’s roll call (not the most traditionally “charitable” cause, but I really feel I owe a lot to my school….and I’m not just talking about loans! lol. It got me this job afterall!).  Of course I’ll continue to give to them, but I know a few others I would definitely like to add to that.

A while back (almost a year ago) Trent at The Simple Dollar wrote a post about donating to charities and I liked how he focused on local organizations, where a smaller donation would make a bigger impact than those huge charities that already receive national attention (actually, his post was more about making lots of smaller donations versus few larger donations, but I obviously came to my own conclusions 😉 ). I’m going to try that approach and find a cause in my area that I feel strongly about….I’ll let you know how that goes. My first donation will be for the month of November.

