I always come across the same dilemma when trying to purchase tickets to events: how much is it worth me paying? Sure, $20 is great….but am I really going to enjoy the show sitting that far? Will I even be able to see?! Usually if its a music concert (orchestra or jazz or something) I’m not too concerned about seeing. As long as I can hear fine its not a big deal (I don’t need to be able to see the sweat on the cellist’s brow, really). However with popular bands, opera, or theatre, or dance….I like to see what’s going on and recognize characters (especially with Opera since you often can’t understand the language and need to read those captions), and yes, if its Dave Grohl I wouldn’t mind seeing the sweat on his brow.

Anyway, what I’m getting at is that I want to go see Avenue Q (since everyone’s raving about it) and I’d like to get two tickets. The problem is that I’m cheap, and I always like to pay as little as possible….but….that’d get me crappy seats!!! lol. I guess its not so much of a dilemma as a hissy fit. (why, oh WHY are tickets so expensive to everything?!)

The cheapest nights are priced as follows: $30.80 for Upper balcony, $46.20 for lower balcony, $62.50 for upper mezzanine, and $66.70 for upper orchestra. (The more expensive nights are about $4 more expensive, but I don’t mind going at 2pm instead of 8pm).

So I’m considering either the upper balcony or lower balcony. Here’s where it gets tricky for me. The upper balcony is literally the top 3 rows of the lower balcony. Its the same section, damnit! But they charge $15 more for you to ensure you’re not in the last possible row. I guess I should suck it up and try to get first row of that section at $46.50 per ticket.

….what do you think?

What’s your general policy for purchasing tickets? I literally agonize over them for several days, often until its too late to get the tickets I want! lol. I guess there’s no magical algorithm, but it doesn’t hurt to ask around, right?

