You may have noticed I haven’t really mentioned anything about my home-search in a while. The explanation is simple….it’s because I haven’t done anything.

Here’s a short timeline that might explain why

Mid-October: I posted about how I wasn’t sure what to do….to buy, or not to buy? My main concern at that time was my employment. No layoffs seen yet, but still….its inevitable that the economy is shaky.

Later in October: We have a region-wide conference call with the regional “big boss”. They cancel our holiday party, and make some other cutbacks in spending.

Throughout November: During visits to headquarters I start noticing that some people have “mysteriously disappeared”. From speaking to others I find out that some people I had previously worked with were let go. Qualified employees with years of experience….there’s just no work for them to do.

November/December: I get placed on a couple of projects in a new sector. While in the past I’ve been a sort of assistant, they’re giving me a small project to be the lead on. Its only a two month project, but it makes me feel a little better….

That leaves me at today. I’m still pretty nervous about what’s going to happen in the next few months, I’m comforted by the fact that they’re giving me more responsibilities here at work. I’m NOT comforted by the fact that so many people I know of have been let go (or as I prefer to think of it, “mysteriously disappeared”).  I’m also NOT comforted by the fact that my project only has a few months duration, so that means if we don’t get this project we have a proposal out for….I may be in trouble. Who knows. They’ve invested a lot of money in training me, so I’m hoping I wouldn’t be one of the first in line to go.

I originally intended to crunch some numbers in this post in order to get a better idea of how much money would actually make me feel comfortable enough to move out on my own. However, I think I’ll leave that to another post.

Come back on Monday for Part 2!

