I haven’t been dancing for so long yet, but its been just about 8 months, much longer than I ever thought I’d stick to it. Not only have I gotten a bit more physically fit from dancing, but so far I’ve learned a few things that apply to dance as well as life in general….


In dance:
I do great when following choreographies. Give me a sequence of steps and I’ll do them, and do them well. Tell me to improvise….and, well, I freeze. I need to work on letting loose, and letting go.  
In life: I’m much the same way. I’ve got my formula, my plan to execute and I can keep my cool. If things don’t go according to plan, or if there are none to begin with….I freeze. I get nothing done, or I freak out.


In dance:
I don’t like to practice in public (such as before class when we have “free” time). I’m worried people will be looking at me do goofy stuff, or messing up moves.
In life: I don’t like people to think I’m trying….in case I mess up. Fear of failure is my biggest fear. Sometimes you just have to stop and realize that 1) people probably aren’t looking at you. They’re too busy looking at themselves in the mirror. 2) If you don’t try, you definitely won’t fail. But there’s no way you’ll succeed either.


In dance:
I continually thought I would never look like any of the instructors while dancing. They’re all so graceful, beautiful, (thin!), and they make the movements look effortless. It took me a while to realize they’ve been doing this for several years more than me…maybe what I needed was just some practice and confidence? 8 months later I’m not quite at their level, but I sure look better than I did at the beginning!
In life: Its the same thing….right now I’m frustrated because I feel like I’ll never be able to afford the things other people are doing and getting. Why can’t I buy that house?! Why can’t I afford a big vacation?! Well, if I stop and think about I’ve been working for 3 years now, I’m doing a lot better than I was when I first started (I’ve saved over $45,000 now!), and I’ll be doing much better in another 3 years. Its all about working for it, and dedication to your goals.

What lessons have you learned from your hobbies?

