Its no secret amongst my family that I’m dying to get Lasik done. I have horrible eye sight, I’ve worn glasses and/or contacts for more than half my life, and I can barely walk without some kind of visual aid (well, I could, but I might miss a stair step or something). I hadn’t seriously thought about getting it done in the past for two reasons: 1) I was worried it hadn’t been around long enough and horrific studies would come out where people lost their eyes (I have an over-active imagination), and 2) my eyesight was always getting worse, until about two years ago.

I don’t even know if I’m a candidate, I’ve never gotten a consultation, but assuming I am a candidate….I think I’m ready. I’d like to have the money mostly saved up by the time I schedule a consultation in November (so that I can pay for it with my Flex Spending in 2010, which is pre-tax money), so I don’t have to scramble at the last minute*. Technically to save $2,000 in 6 months (now until November) I’ll need to set aside $333 each month. Using a very preliminary budget I could definitely save $84 a month, which would bring me to barely $450 by November. Not quite enough. However, if/when I move there will be lots of variable categories (like gas) that I’ll probably have savings in. Combine that with Fun Money I don’t use and its quite possible I can have the total sum saved up.

I’ve got a lot of work to do, but as you can see I’ve already added the “Lasik Fund” to my progress bars!

 

*I figure, even if I am told I’m not a candidate for Lasik, it won’t be a total loss. I’ll have $2,000 to make me feel better!! I mean,  be responsible and get myself a new pair of glasses, and/or prescription sunglasses and/or contacts….heck, there’s plenty I can do with $2,000!

