Earlier this week I had the pleasure of attending another Whole Foods cooking class….with the same chef as before! I hadn’t read the description of what he’d be cooking for us ahead of time, so I was a little worried he’d be cooking something I don’t like….like artichokes, or uncooked tomatoes. I was hungry!

So, when he said he was making a watermelon salad with feta….well, I was a little skeptical. Let me rephrase that: VERY skeptical. I decided to give it a try anyway. (I told you, I was hungry!) I’ll give you the recipe, and I’ll let you know what I thought about it in the end….

Watermelon Salad
(Ingredients are approximations. Keep in mind he cooked for about 30 people)

Vinaigrette:
Pomegranate vinegar
Avocado oil (3 parts oil to 1 part vinegar)
Extras (you can add a white wine, or any extra flavoring….if using white wine, use a dessert wine)

Salt
Creole Seasoning
Cilantro
Watermelon (seedless, cut into 1″ or larger cubes)
Red onion, chopped
Feta cheese, crumbled

Pour oil and vinegar (plus wine, optional) into a large bowl. Whisk to completely mix and “emulsify” (I think that’s the word). Add salt, seasoning, and cilantro right into the bowl and mix in. Add watermelon cubes, red onion, and feta cheese. Mix in and make sure vinaigrette is well distributed. Let it sit a few minutes.

Serve on a plate. (After sitting the watermelon will release additional juices. If you leave it in a bowl the juices will just sit on the bottom.) Pour excess juices over the top of the salad.

So, based on that….what do you think? Would you eat it? Sound any good?

I must admit I was nervous. I was sitting in the front row and didn’t want to involuntarily make a weird face when trying the salad and risk offending the chef. I mean, come on….watermelon with onions?!! What was he thinking?!

And then I tried it.

I found it to be delicious! The sweetness of the watermelon, with the subtle vinaigrette flavor, plus the strong flavor of the feta and the tart onion….man, it was good! I highly recommend you try this. The only downer: the vinegar and oil each cost $14 at Whole Foods, and they’re pretty much what makes the dish. Even when making the salad to feed 30 people though, he didn’t use the whole bottle, slightly more than half. So it may not come out too expensive per serving. I’ll have to get back with you about that part….

Has anyone tried something like this before? I hadn’t, and it was definitely a pleasant surprise!

