I wrote a month or two ago about how I was intent upon saving up for a stand mixer….I’d divert all my unused fun money to a dedicated fund, or something like that. However to this day I have yet to add a penny to my stand mixer fund (as evidenced by my progress bar refusing to budge from zero). I’m ok with that….all because I’ve found a solution!

You see, last year I gave myself $500 to spend on my Christmas shopping. I ended up baking stuff for everyone, and even with the $100 membership I got my mom, and the big cookie party I threw for the family, I came in just around $250. I had $250 left at the end to save as I pleased. Chances are I’ll do the same thing again this year…..so I can either stop saving at $250, and budget around that, OR I can save up the same $500….but use the other half for something else.

Do you see what I’m getting at?

The solution to my problem is to buy my stand mixer with the Christmas gift fund!!!  Afterall, I can’t make all those homemade baked goods without a stand mixer, can I?! I’ve been looking around at prices, and while I can get one of the smaller ones for $200, the 5-qt artisan mixer is $300. (Now, I have no clue what the difference is, other than the bowl capacity….anyone care to enlighten me?) I don’t intend to run out and buy it right away, I’ll need to do a bit of research and bargain hunting before I take the plunge.

I’m a little embarrassed that I’m taking “the easy way out”, but really, what’s money for if it can’t be moved around to make life easier?

