I was very amused the other day to find that the search “I got stabbed by a pencil when I was a….” got someone to my page! (Hello there! I hope you’re reading, and if you need to talk to someone about your trauma with pencils, feel free to email me! hehe)

As I found out in that post, pencil stabbings are not quite that rare with kids!! Forget the streets….school is a dangerous place!

Anyway, that made me giggle a bit, so I thought I’d share that along with a few other things that have made me smile as of late….

  • The AC in the apartment is fixed! I’ve now slept in my new place two nights!
  • My vacation weekend (Labor Day) is quickly approaching. I can’t wait to see my friends! I haven’t seen them in at least 2 years!
  • I have two more trips in the works: one to Washington DC in December, and one to the Epcot Food and Wine Festival! (Disney World) I’m very excited. This will be my first time in DC!! For those in the area, any recommendations for things I MUST do while I’m there? (We’re already planning on going to as many museums as possible, Mt. Vernon if we can, the White House if we can get in, and Arlington.) Suggestions are welcome.
  • My landlord called me the other day to introduce himself (before the whole A/C issue). He seems pretty nice. Lives out of state, and just so happens to be an engineer as well! Seems cool, and I was relieved to hear that he’d prefer I do online transfers to pay my rent. (I have a fear of checks getting lost in mail.)
  • I made a floor plan of my apartment. I love it! I can cut out stuff the size of my furniture to see how I can arrange it within the rooms without having to lift heavy objects!
  • I have a lot of room in the new place. Not a bad thing, as long as I don’t try filling it all up. I’m particularly excited about using the hallway closet for my shoes (with a huge full-length mirror as a door!!!), and the guest bedroom/office as a workout room. YAY! Zumba, Jillian Michaels, and yoga….here I come! (And maybe some P90X thrown in there too. Yeah right, who am I kidding…)
  • I LOVE that I have my own bathroom! Sure, its the ONLY bathroom in the apartment, but it just made me smile lining up my skin care products in the cabinet, and organizing the drawers. (In the past I just kept them all thrown in a bag that I kept for my room. I put everything on my face while sitting my bed with a hand-held mirror.)
  • My new “Martha Stewart Collection” preparation bowls are adorable!!! I haven’t used them yet, but I took them out of the package, lined them up on the counter, and I’m SO glad I bought them….even if they were overpriced at $10 for 6 mini melamine bowls.
  • I normally wouldn’t think of owning a waffle maker, but I got one at Target for $7!

I might as well talk about a few things that have NOT made me smile, too….

  • I have a fear of getting stuck in the garage, or the power going out and having my car stuck in my garage. I would imagine there’s a way around that, but I’m not all that familiar with the workings of garage doors.
  • None of my other neighbors (in the 4-plex, at least) use their garages for cars. I suppose its none of my business, but that means the spots between the units are always full. It shouldn’t really affect me unless I’m having company.
  • I’m not all that impressed with the memory foam mattress. I mean, it’s not bad, but its no miracle foam! lol. My back bothered a little when I tried to sleep sideways (something I don’t usually do either way). Although last night I slept a good portion of the time on my back….something I’ve never been able to do. Although maybe that’s also partly because of the new pillow I got too.
  • I’m missing a garbage bin. I think one of the neighbors “borrowed” it. I suppose it’ll just be better to request another one from the city, since I’m not about to start making accusations, lol.

Only three more days until the weekend!! I’m already exhausted….I hope I make it!

