Have I mentioned things are tight at work?

Our office manager (OM) commented to me today that one of our friends called her (who also works with our company), asking if she’d heard about any impending layoffs this week. He said his bosses were acting funny towards him. She (the OM) generally knows who’s getting laid off the next week, and although she didn’t confirm or deny anything, her tone implied that she knew what was going on.

My response when she told me about this was, “well right now all we can do is work each week as if it’s our last. If we still have jobs the following Monday, we’ll consider ourselves lucky.”

Unfortunately, I’ve been taking my own advice. I’m trying to get caught up on my filing and archives….just in case, I’m trying to get everything lined up in case someone needs to pick up where I left off, and I’m embarrassed to admit that I cleaned out my personal stuff from my desk yesterday.

I know they say you should always try to remain optimistic, but I’m just not feeling it in the air around here.

