I have yet to make any goals for 2010. Or even really think about it in depth, really. To be honest, I’ve been so busy worrying about the situation at work, that the thought of 2010 just leaves my mind blank.  I really don’t know what is going to happen, therefore I’ve been pushing the thought of any goals away for the time being.

I figure one of two things will happen in 2010:

1 – I’ll get to keep my current job for an indefinite amount of time. If that’s the case, I’m just going to continue my savings at the previous rate, saving up any extra cash earmarked to pay off my car debt….but I won’t be paying off that debt until I either feel really safe at work (or I feel the industry is rebounding), or until I have enough earmarked to pay off the loan completely. (Yay! That’d be awesome!) Lasik would be nice as well, but I realize right now it’s just a whim.

2 – I won’t get to keep my job, and I’ll have to go into a serious re-evaluation of my life and career choice. Sounds a bit overdramatic, but I really think that’s what I’d need to do. If that happens I’d go into “back-up mode”….which means saving everything I can, and bringing back my “side hustles” to bring in any cash I can until I find a steady income.

Those two options aside, I do have some things I’d like to work on in 2010, which is basically the same thing I said I wanted to do in 2009: get healthy, and unclutter.*

I recently started experimenting with some P90X (and my butt is SORE today), and I’d like to get to the point where I can do this daily. The only thing stopping me right now is my schedule (while it’s possible, it’s definitely NOT fun to wake up at 5am to work out….and as it is that has be starting late and seriously rushing to get to work on time), so I need to work on that. The next thing I really need ok, want, is a set of adjustable dumbbells. Unfortunately those start at $140 ($70 each at Target, and adjust from 5-25 lbs) and run up to $300 for a set. If anyone knows of any discounts or places I can look to find them cheaper, please let me know! (I’ve checked second hand stores, and will be checking Craigslist.)

I also still have a personal goal to RUN a full 5k. I feel like I’ve been trying to do this forever (a couple years now), and just as I start to get into the groove of things, something happens and I allow myself to get derailed. I made the furthest progress this year, but gave myself a break last month. I haven’t been out running again since Thanksgiving. My solution: join a running/training group. I’ve been eyeing this group for a while, and I finally have the time in my schedule. It’s a 7-week program, 2 days a week, $79. I haven’t signed up just yet, but I’m 80% sure I’m going to do it!

Lastly, I need to eat better.

And regarding my decluttering, I feel I did a decent job before the move, but I still managed to bring a bunch of junk with me I don’t know what to do with. I need to organize my “2nd room”, since it’s full of those boxes right now. The fact that I rarely step foot in there tells me I don’t need most of the stuff in there. I need to get that all sorted out, and avoid gathering too much clutter as the year goes by.

So that’s basically what I have “planned” for 2010*. Changes will be made as it gets closer, or as things change once it’s actually here, but for now that feels like a good enough focus for me.

*I should also recognize that I need to think about adding a 3rd item, which is actually formulating my “Plan B” in further detail. But officially writing about that depresses me right now, I’ll think about it after the holidays.

