I appreciate what everyone who commented on yesterday’s post had to say, and I particularly liked the suggestion to give myself deadlines (that was calgirlfinance). So, in an effort to do that, I’m making goals at the beginning of each week. It didn’t quite make sense to do that while I was working full time, but now it totally makes sense!

So, this week’s goals:

1. Complete my resume and send out to key people by the end of the week.

I’m going to work on it all day today, have my mom proof it by Wednesday, and perhaps a few other people. [My mom and a couple of people have it, and are looking at it as we speak.] Thursday morning I’m calling my former boss and emailing it to him. [I may delay this, depending on when I get responses, or what changes I need to make.]

2. Bake at least one loaf of bread.

Yeah, won’t quite help me with my job search (lol), but I’ve been meaning to do this, and the onion I bought for a loaf is going to go bad!!

3. No more cookie dough or cookies until Friday night. (That goes for other bad binge foods.)

Totally necessary goal. I had a bad morning on Monday and ended up eating 4 “balls” of cookie dough (I pre-scoop my cookie dough so I can make them fresh later). I can’t undo all the working out I’ve been doing, just because I’m feeling moody. FAIL. It’s been a tough couple of nights. The good news is the dough is gone. The bad news is where it went. (i.e. my belly!)

4. Come up with affirmations to read each morning.

It’s so easy for me to bring myself down, and I have to remember that I’m not an idiot, and I can do this. When my uncle found out I lost my job, what he said really touched me. He said “whatever happens, don’t forget you are an intelligent girl, you are capable of many things, and you’ll find something even better.” (More or less, I’m translating/paraphrasing what he said.) I know he’s my uncle, and very biased, but it was really sweet, and left me feeling capable of doing anything….I need to remember that feeling.

5. Read at least 15 minutes a day. Anything in paper form.

This was a monthly goal that up until now I have completely ignored. No more! I need to finish some books! [ So far so good, Monday: check, Tuesday: check….and way more than just 15 minutes.]

Now that I’m done with Dexter, my TV time should decrease dramatically, and I’m hoping to replace that with reading, job searching, and other productive activities.

