I’ve started to read a book that will possibly help me find some kind of focus and ideas as to what to do with my life. Anyway, one of the things they mentioned was the DISC personalities, and that led me to the internet to refresh my memory about it! For those who don’t know, DISC stands for Drive/Dominance, Influence, Steadiness, and Compliance, and they refer to your personality type/preferences. From what I recall I was an S-C type (you’re never just one, and that makes sense)*.

I decided to take a quick free quiz from PersonalityStyle.com (one of those that makes you pick what “most” and “least” describes you from groups of 4 statements). While I didn’t get a clear designation from the DISC types, I did get a nice little description of my personality based on their results:


A perfectionist, QL is very willing to expend the effort to achieve high quality results. Because she works so carefully, she tends to be sensitive to criticism. QL tends to gather a great deal of information before making choices. She believes that if everyone would process information in the same way as she does, a better level of quality would be maintained.

QL values close, personal relationships, and she will often put the needs and desires of those who are loyal friends ahead of her own needs. She is an even-paced individual who thrives in a peaceful, harmonious environment. QL will work to avoid conflict and sudden changes in her lifestyle and finds joy in keeping tradition.

QL would prefer things stay the same, rather than to risk a new venture (unless it is proven and true). She is typically peaceful and low key, and is usually seen by those around her as a good friend and listener. She tends to adopt a “wait and see” attitude about things, rather than taking charge of a situation, usually preferring to let others take the lead.

QL usually avoids being the center of attention. She tends to pick her friends carefully and is usually cautious and not overly “open” to strangers. QL may sometimes come across as being skeptical of what others tell her they will do, but once a person has proven their reliability, QL is willing to invest more time and trust in the relationship.


What I always find amusing about these things is yes, that’s how I see myself….but I wonder if that’s how others see me too? If there’s anything I learned from my past job is that those two could be miles away from each other.

What personality type are you? D, I, S or C?

*If you’re curious, click here to read a bit more about DISC, although a quick search online can lead you to MANY similar sites!

