There are two main thoughts that have brought me to this point:

  1. There aren’t a whole lot of opportunities out there right now in my line of work.
  2. The last few months of my old job were pretty miserable. (You can read some snippets about that here and here.)

For the most part I’m paranoid about bringing traffic to my site if I mention the industry I’m in….but I think it’s pretty relevant to my career crisis…so I’m going to say it. To put it simply, in my industry….we build stuff. Buildings. (Ok, if you need a further explanation….feel free to ask, but I’d say it’s pretty self-explanatory.)

You’d have to be hiding under a rock to not know what’s happened to our industry, for the most part. With the bursting of the real estate bubble the first round of companies went down (the ones that specialized in high rises), then as the economy kept sinking lower and lower more companies were in danger. For a while we’d get scary news…companies across the street laid of 100 people in one day, or gave 30% pay cuts throughout. I consider myself VERY lucky for lasting as long as I did.

I suppose it’s starting to pick up in some regions, but basically that just means companies are getting enough work to keep their currently employees busy….I haven’t seen true growth in this area yet. So jobs? Yeah…right. (Actually, I have seen lots of postings for upper level management. I find that pretty interesting…I read it as a sign that companies are trying to expand their previous business models, go into new sectors, etc.)

Take that (no jobs) and add it to the fact that I’m not even 100% sure I want to go back to that industry…..and, well, there’s a lot of insecurity. I briefly considered (and would still consider) working for a sub contractor (I worked for a general….which manages all the subs), but there’s still no guarantee that I wouldn’t end up hating it.

So, all this time, from even before I got laid off I started thinking…..what would I do if I no longer had a full-time job? Lots of things crossed my mind: be a professional belly dancer (yeah, right), take an apprenticeship at a bakery, become a reality TV star (heehee)….in other words, they all seemed totally unrealistic, if not impractical.  Of all the things that briefly popped into my head there’s one that I have given a second, third, and fourth thought to….however, this post has gotten a bit long, so I’ll tell you in Part 2 tomorrow!

