Continued from Part 1

So, all this time, from even before I got laid off I started thinking…..what would I do if I no longer had a full-time job? Lots of things crossed my mind: be a professional belly dancer (yeah, right), take an apprenticeship at a bakery, become a reality TV star (heehee)….in other words, they all seemed totally unrealistic, if not impractical.  Of all the things that briefly popped into my head there’s one that I have given a second, third, and fourth thought to….and that was teaching.

I haven’t always wanted to admit it, but part of me has always wanted to teach. (When I was in kindergarten I remember I really wanted to be a painter “when I grew up”….then I realized you had to have some kind of talent, or painting ability….of which I had none. After that I moved onto wanting to be a teacher. That actually lasted for a while, maybe until middle school when I realized that teachers didn’t make a lot of money.) Childhood memories aside, of all the things I’ve considered, it feels like it would be the best fit for me.

Sadly, I had never actually mentioned this to anyone. Last weekend though the BF was asking if I had any backup plans in case nothing comes up in my former line of work; if I had a new career in mind. I wasn’t sure if I should share but I did. What did I have to lose by sharing? (And I followed the revelation with a laundry list of why it probably wouldn’t work out anyway…..yeah, I think I have a negativity/insecurity problem.)

The only problem? (Here we go again…) The economy.

I don’t know if it’s the same where you guys are, but here, in a state that has been greatly affected by the burst of the real estate bubble, falling home prices, and the subsequent fall in the tax roll….schools are suffering from budget cuts and lack of sufficient funding. So now they’re laying off people in the school districts, cutting pay, freezing raises, etc. I’m making an effort to remain positive, but after some quick searching in the state databases there aren’t many opportunities right now in the school districts. Someone mentioned teaching at private schools….but I would imagine they are doing even worse.

So, I dunno….I feel I’m at a dead end again, even before I start.

For the sake of this post though, and to sum up what things I would need to do to get started towards becoming an educator (and to perhaps keep some hope alive, lol). Since I have an engineering background, according to the state I could take some tests and teach Math or Physics. Or, I could also apply to be a substitute teacher. And the costs would be:

General Knowledge Test: $130
Fingerprinting: $71
Substitute teacher application: $21

Subject Area Test: Physics: $200
Subject Area Test: Math 5-9: $200
Subject Area Test: Math 6-12: $200

So, um, yeah….I guess the first thing to figure out is if I really want to teach. It’s not cheap enough to just do on a whim, but at the same time I can’t be a serious candidate  if I don’t first have my test scores, then I need to figure out how to get experience. Then I have to worry about whether or not there are any jobs out there. (Right? Or am I going about this totally backwards.) I figure if this is something I really want to do, then I should give it a real shot. It won’t be worth the trouble if it’s just something I thought up to pass the time.

At a minimum I would need to take the GK test and fingerprinting to be a substitute, which would give me some experience along the way. (FYI, I actually looked up the test prep guides and they have a few of them at the library! Unfortunately they’re in high demand, but at least I know I could take a look at them and “prepare” without committing to anything.)

I know my life isn’t limited to a choice between A or B, it never is. I’m sure there are many other things I can do….including being an entrepreneur. However, in the past I’ve learned that I don’t really have what it takes to be a good business owner. For one, I hate marketing myself and I’m a terrible salesperson. (I actually left out “sales” when I was typing….I hope that doesn’t mean I subconsciously think I’m a terrible person.) Even so, in the event nothing comes up in the following months I have to have a backup plan….including picking up part time jobs (it wouldn’t take much to earn more than I’m getting from unemployment), and doing some other things on the side/from home.

We’ll see what happens. I have a lot to work on, but I consider it progress that I’m even typing this and sharing with you all…

